Jobs, Jobs, Jobs!

I heard some politician say this on a news snippet the other day.  She went on to say, that it is all about job creation.  I am sure she was talking about the current economy and what we need to do to fix it.  This prompted me to think.

I recently returned to college to finish my degree.  So many in my classes, when asked about their educational goals, say, “I want a better job so I can _____.”  Fill in the blank, everyone has a different reason for wanting a better job.  I was speaking to a friend last week about her possible move to Florida, and of course, her number one concern is getting a job comparable to the one she has in Pennsylvania.

Who creates jobs?  Businesses, right?  I tried my luck a few times in my younger years working for a big company or two.  I didn’t like it.  I was paid to show up on time and move papers from one side of the desk to another.  I rarely communicated with the customer, and I think I knew the president’s name, but I would not recognize him if I ran him over with the 1970 Chevy Impala that I struggled to keep on the road with the meager paycheck I received.

The unemployment rate is currently pretty high in Florida, and I am sure other states are facing similar unemployment rates.  So, one day, the boss says, “Mary, we no longer need your services, we are cutting back and have to let you go.”  Mary gathers up her things and her dignity and leaves the building and heads to the unemployment office.  Twelve months later, she is still collecting unemployment and has no prospects for work.  Unemployment is threatening to cut her off any day.  So, what is Mary to do?

Well, what has Mary been doing all year?  Some say it’s a full-time job looking for work.  Maybe that is what she was doing.  However, I have to believe she was doing something else, like gardening, running errands, housework and whatever her hobby of choice is.  What does Mary LIKE to do?  In what areas of life does Mary excel?  Everyone of us as human beings are good at something.  We all carry around our own special skill in life.  Some people are good at household repairs, some are good at plumbing or electrical work.  Some of us are good on the computer, can design websites, or can balance the household finances, even when there aren’t any.

That is what I’m talking about.  If you are not finding work, find your special skill and create work around it.  Start your own business.  Make your own money.  I am not suggesting that you buy into some franchise or start selling vitamins.  I am talking about your Life’s Work.  Life isn’t meant to be sitting at a desk until 5 o’clock.  Life is short and should be enjoyed, even during business hours.

Why are we all waiting around for someone else to create jobs for us?  Why do we expect someone else to fix the problem?  You are just as capable of creating work for yourself as some corporate conglomerate.  All you have to do is want it and go after it.

Some people actually enjoy moving paper from one side of the desk to the other, and they cannot fathom a life where a boss isn’t telling them what to do and when to do it.  They will not understand this essay at all or they will completely debunk it as impossible to attain.  Those are the people that you can employ when your new business takes off, and it will.  Now, you are the one creating jobs, jobs, jobs instead of looking for one.

So, how do you find your Life’s Work and more importantly how do you turn it into your new business?  Well, that’s the next  article.  Stay tuned!

3 thoughts on “Jobs, Jobs, Jobs!

  1. I don’t move paper from one side of a desk to another, but part of my job performance rating is based on the number of calls I take and the number of cases I close. I have considered that it could have been fulfilling doing something for a living that I have a level of passion about. As it is, my corporate master is not the focus of my life, but it does pay the bills. On a positive note, it’s a familiar routine, and my time off is entirely my own.

  2. I enjoyed this post tremendously. I have the greatest respect (and perhaps a bit of envy) for entreprenuers. I’ve always found myself wanting to pursue my own passions and to strike out on my own, but feeling shackled by the “golden handcuffs” of stable money and benefits. And oddly enough, the older I get the more inner conflict I feel between acceping what’s comfortable and not wanting to look back with regrets over the road untraveled.

    Lately, I’ve compensated by taking on extra work, both in a sincere effort to help others, but also to monetize my free time and perhaps spark a change. Even that isn’t as satisfying as I had hoped because — despite my attempts to do things my own way –I’ve really just added a new boss. There are rules to be followed, policies to review and various requirememts to be met… and none of which satisfies that little voice in the back of my head telling me that I haven’t yet found “it.”

    So I count my blessings and march on…and get back to work until I can sort this out.

  3. With numerous ideas floating around in your mind. The reslts are astounding.
    He sees this as part of the business plan, but do they go get a corporate job?

    This is when they spend their time writing a business plan for a marketing plan.

Leave a comment